Author: cafecoffeewriter

In Case You Noticed…

The site is going through a bit of a revamp. I just moved over 300 posts from tumblr and none of it transferred as expected. So! It’s going to be a slow process. I’m still trying to figure out how best to show multiple sources of content on wordpress and make it clear when things…

Robert Plutchik created a wheel of emotions in 1980 which consisted of 8 basic emotions and 8 advanced emotions each composed of 2 basic ones.

Eight Basic Emotions

  • Joy
  • Sadness
  • Trust
  • Disgust
  • Fear
  • Anger
  • Surprise
  • Anticipation

Basic Emotion  ⇄  Basic Opposite

  • Joy  ⇄  Sadness
  • Trust  ⇄  Disgust
  • Fear  ⇄  Anger
  • Surprise  ⇄  Anticipation

Combination of Basic Emotions (A + B)  =  Advanced Human Emotions (Opposite Advanced Emotion in Parentheses)

  • Anticipation + Joy  =  Optimism (Disapproval)
  • Joy + Trust  =  Love (Remorse)
  • Trust + Fear  =  Submission (Contempt)
  • Fear + Surprise  =  Awe (Aggression)
  • Surprise + Sadness  =  Disappointment (Optimism)
  • Sadness + Disgust  =  Remorse (Love)
  • Disgust + Anger  =  Contempt (Submission)
  • Anger + Anticipation  =  Aggression (Awe)


Writer’s Block

A picture says a thousand words. Write them.

Mission: Write a story, a description, a poem, a metaphor, a commentary, or a critique about this picture. Write something about this picture.

Be sure to tag writeworld in your block!

Books fall open, you fall in. When you climb out again, you’re a bit larger than you used to be.

This Is a Towel: Setting

writeworld: Anonymous said: Can you link me to some posts you have about making up settings, specifically in fantasy? Firstly, what is a setting? Here’s a great definition from UDL Editions: Setting: The setting is the environment in which a story or event takes place. Setting can include specific information about time and place (e.g. Boston, Massachusetts, in…